Best things to have at Churches

12/28/2014

Best things to have at Churches

  • Tampons/pads
  • Bandaids
  • Smelling salts (not really; a little joke)
  • Donuts and Bagels and Cream cheese and oranges and bananas and apples like my church has (food.)
  • Kleenex (facial tissues)
  • Spare and well-loved copies of the Bible
  • Nametags if necessary
  • Markers/colored pencil/crayons, paper, and coloring pages
  • Crosswords/Puzzles/Sodoku and coffee
  • Everything that coffee logically needs
  • Granola/protein bars
  • First aid (in all the conventional ways)
  • Chocolate for scary moments (this is so real)
  • Stain remover wipes
  • Recipes
  • People who can be honest with no prior notice
  • Highlighters/Pens
  • Sticky notes
  • Sidewalk chalk
  • Common sense
  • Nail polish for stressful moments and taking care of people when they are crying
  • Spare hair ties, bobby pins, and scrunchies (all hair types friendly; won’t scalp you)
  • People that can tell you where to get help and still care
  • Guides for best restaurants in town (or tips)
  • Guides for where to find groceries based on your preferences
  • Guides to where to have fun (OK I really just need to write those lists and donate them to my church already. Ok. I will this break.)
  • Popular explanations of dumb things like myths or fun legends that have some relevance to the place you are in
  • Volunteering materials from collective knowledge and common sense tips to serve Jesus without endangering yourself or others
  • On occasion, well-marked and labeled (by ingredient for allergies) baked goods
  • Safety pins and duct tape
  • Toys or books or videos that actually talk about the Bible (reason number 1000 why I love my church)
  • Beads to make bracelets, simple crafts that are legitimately fun and not forced like prison
  • Gender neutral toys (seriously. This will not make anyone any more or less than they are, it will make them happy to play with toys.)
  • Mints for stank coffee breath
  • Diapers and other things that go with them
  • Anything else that is legitimately necessary and can be done well small

This is not an exhaustive list, but this is what I have seen to work and I know they are all good things, depending on the circumstances. It’s your call whether or not they best suit your circumstances. The whole point is that Church should be like home, and if it sounds like something you would want to share with people in your home, it might be a good idea, in terms of hospitality.

Lol,

Haley

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

