My jar broke

12/25/2014

My jar broke

Ok so we’re back with the clay vessels again

And this time it’s the bull in the china shop

But it’s all clay and all dust and dusty water and some of its nice looking but most of its garbage with dirt flakes and straw bits poking out and it smells like horse shit next door and the ground has some dead bugs and dust bits in the corner and it smells like earth but more importantly, horse shit.

We all want to be pretty plastic vessel with happy crappy lids

So we don’t spill in the car.

BUT

If he broke your lid so your light could shine in the carpool lane

Or he made you a straw bits Mohawk so you couldn’t pass into Weavers downtown with the nice socks

Would you still want to be a jar?

You could be a lego spaceship or a four leaf clover

And he made you a damn jar,

Ok.

Fine.

And the mud bits, they dissolve in water right?

Could the fire be to keep you as you are?

Not just to preserve the scary bits that are really goodness

But to make all of it last so that next time

When you are alone in a room that smells like horse shit

You can remember that the God who burned it all to last

Including shaving off that straw Mohawk so it would let you return to the socks section

That he loves you enough to burn off all the other Scary

That he would die for you enough so that it lasts?

I hope so.

One of my favorites is a girl that gets scared about jars sometimes

But she has the biggest heart of most people I know that know both goodness and not goodness

And she is the best fucking jar I could imagine for who he made her

And it breaks my lid to think that she would ever feel like he didn’t make her perfect as perfect as her

Because if your light isn’t his then it isn’t yours

And nobody needs lids in the first place

Not if we are all going to see

I hope that all our lids are burnt off permanently, and soon

Let it shine uncontrollably into blindness

Let the stumbling be super obvious so that my friend who is the most beautiful jar I can think of

Will know that above all

She is beautiful.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

