Mirror Child

12/26/2014

Mirror Child

The spirits of little children are so happy when you become their mirrors

They have nothing to be afraid of.

When I was a baby

I used to be scared that people in the mirror would see me as I put on underwear

It’s a real fear

Sometimes it never leaves, I think.

I love children because with them it’s easy

They don’t have nearly the menagerie of spare heads to screw onto their shoulders

They can’t morph into classy, crappy, and lazy in the blink of the eye

Children are so new

They are beautiful in a way that should be preserved

Not coddled

But appreciated

Taught to grow

Not grow “properly”

Because if it manages to grow these days

Then that should really be enough, over the course of a life.

Grow in the simple that makes them beautiful

Why do you think baby hand prints in plaster are so stunning?

It’s like a fragment of your destiny cast into clay and hung on your Christmas tree by a blue ribbon

You are loved.

I trust children more than anyone else

Because they have such less reason to lie to me than anyone

Why would I be afraid, with those odds?

Why would I ever be afraid?

The more I go down this rabbit hole,

I am happier for the children in my life

They remind me who I am

And it is nice to keep it that small.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

