Explode

12/25/2014

Explode

Scattered fractals, dust, and the water that you sent into mist

Is this the peace you promised me?

I’m practicing my posture so that I will fly straight,

I like to pretend I’m a ballerina because then

I will be able to hold it longer.

If I could use it as an escalator, like Dancin in the Rain gone vertical

Would you meet me at the top?

Better yet, run with me down the edges

That would make one helluva slip in slide, don’t you think?

If it’s a circle, the half that we don’t see

Does that become a tire swing?

I know that if the first half is up then the

Bottom must be somewhere here with me.

I don’t know how you do it God,

You have it like a seamless hulu hoop and we only ever know half

I just want to know what it would be like to somersault down

I still can’t fucking cartwheel,

What the hell ever!

Flying would come easier anyways I bet.

Don’t you think I could find somebody to dance with in all of Heaven?

I think the odds are in my favor,

Especially if all those “ignorant” Israelite women didn’t make the cut,

Fuck philosophy and “common” knowledge,

Those ladies were classy as all get out, I’m sure, to put up with any of it.

Remember glitter glue? And the dust that freezes into lakes like blue?

Would you make purple for me that comes out brighter than Holi bright

Or the snowflakes that are brown burnt onto our hands, mehndi sunrises and gears?

What about that dumb apple

Could you make that into a dumb star?

I’d like to see it explode into the same dust you made purple out of

Or maybe

I’d like to see it settle onto my eyelashes and know that I could see anything!

I may see tons of stuff I’d rather not

But let’s talk about how fucking legit my brain and optical nerves and the bits and neuron pieces are that translate all that

I still have no idea what I’m talking about, but damn, color me impressed

I’d really like to explode like a star

Fuck car bombs and warfare

I want to be a galaxy all on my own

And just settle soaring faster than you or anybody could ever imagine!

You think I’m fast now??

Just wait until I’m made up of 1000 billion no-numbers-will-do-it justice solar system thing

Like the glow ones we had on our ceiling,

You’d never catch up,

Maybe then you could stop explaining

And just look up and be happy

I’d do it just for that, silly button

I’d do it for each and every one of us, for the smiles only

I dare you to dare me to make a scene at Walmart

I would “impersonate” a star

Like persons have more of a claim on personhood than stars anyways

Lol did you forget the part about made in HIS image

We’ve got it ass backwards if you ask me

Just look up.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

