Cussing

I have come to the conclusion that I really need to stop cussing. I’ve thought about either side, and although I believe the most important thing is still the spirit in which those words are said, I think that once it becomes habit it can be pretty difficult to realize that there is any difference once those words are said in heartbreaking ways or generally, just meanness. I think the reason we have words like that is to inspire either contrast or meanness, and honestly, I think there are better ways that I am going to pursue from this moment forward. That is not to say I will do it perfectly, god help us, no. But I think that I’ve come to terms with the fact that I don’t have to cuss to have a point worth speaking in most things, and the rest of the time, I’m happier silent. If cussing is just another excuse that people can use against me to ignore what I say, then I should leave it here and now.

So. I will not be cursing (to the very best of my abilities, I do have plenty of self control so it probably will only be a slight adjustment in the long term, broad scale order of things), not because I think it’s morally bankrupt or terrible always or something that evil people with evil broken minds that tell evil twisted lies do, but more than anything, because I just think that I can do better. I believe that we all have the right to use the words that we need to describe ourselves so long as they do not hurt others, and because people often get offended at that language regardless of intentions, I’m going to leave it. I do not know that I necessarily needed it before, but I will be honest that in certain trying situations, there is a certain truth to cursing because that is what your heart is struggling with anyways, that kind of cursing God and debating doubt kind of stress and turmoil that is enough to scramble anyone’s brains. I’m not necessarily sorry for it, but I do not want it to continue, there’s just too much time and space wasted by words that don’t matter. I feel like I’d be a hypocrite to continue that, at least in plenty of social situations I’d like to experience in the future. I know that most of these moral definitions are subjective to mankind and consistently the same for God, but in the meantime, as I don’t know exactly what he has to say on this (although there are plenty of people who would bicker over my clueless corpse if they could), I think I am going to go with the option that is the least likely to hurt anyone.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

