Walk with me, Pete

12/22/2014

Walk with me, Pete

Will you forget?

You call me out upon the water,

But if I look down,

Will I stop?

That mirror-mirror icy drop staring back at me,

My face.

Keep my eyes on you Christ, Keep my eyes forward,

And yet,

The icy glow from the river misted over

Stumbles me back, I look down,

Does the looking back buoy you up when you choke?

What about the looking up?

Scramble up again, this time it’s a trapeze,

Don’t fall don’t fall don’t fall WAIT—

Will you walk when you are afraid of sinking?

He may call me out upon the water,

But if I just enjoy walking

Will I know fear?

I may not be able to swim,

But is the ground so different when it shifts under your feet?

I know a thing or two about earthquakes now,

I’d like to think I would survive.

If I trusted him to rescue me even as I may drown,

Would I know any difference?

He may have called Peter out like he calls me now

But did Peter just look down

And see his fear staring back at him?

That would trip me too, Pete.

I’ll ask some day.

Peter, would you teach me to walk?

I know you must know how now,

If you can learn to walk on water

Then surely nothing else can faze you, come to land.

When I am afraid,

Will I trust that the rescue is on its way

Or resign myself to drown?

Peter, have you forgotten??

Look;

Look up!

Will you be afraid if you ramble a little while further

Will you look back and see how far you’ve come,

Knowing that the shore is a glimmer

And the waves have grown strong?

Will you forget?

When clouds settle in and the thunder ensues

Will you trust him in the storm?

I just ask my friend

That you remember he comes with us both.

I ask my Fear to be still and silent

I ask my patience to be out-shadowed by goodness,

Even in the storm.

That the light could obliterate it all in a second

Bursting through the clouds

This is the hope we chose, Pete,

This was our choice,

Thank you for walking beside me,

We will walk together.

Should we be afraid?

I don’t think so,

Paul already said we could pick each other up,

I’m not all that afraid if I’ve got a buddy.

Look forward,

Not backward,

Dive into the waves

And keep walking:

This is the life we chose.

I know it will be there when we come back,

The shore that is.

Let’s go!

Adventure is out there,

And we have some walking to do,

Let’s just see where we go,

I’m rather fond of walking,

And it’s nice to have the company.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

