Angel of Death

12/22/2014

Angel of Death

Have you seen enough yet

Or do I have to keep looking?

Swivel around; you’ll only believe me for what I’m selling,

And if I give my goodness for free,

What then?

I will nest in your convenient stereotypes,

I will survive them all.

The thing about always being the “controversial” child that survived:

You can read your audience without them ever knowing you’re faking it.

I can make a “good impression” no matter the context;

Try me.

If you don’t believe it’s a pretense,

Well then,

The joke is on us both.

You will not know if I’m lying to your face,

I had to lie under a lot more pressure than this

And you can put that in your pipe and smoke it.

And yet,

Safety isn’t yours or mine or anyone’s

That’s why I give my safety to God.

If you see me as I am and hate me, afraid,

Then I will say nothing,

And I will stand somewhere else,

It’s like a dance.

I will know if you’re lying,

Every time you thought I didn’t notice,

Guess what?

I simply forgave:

And kept moving.

It’s funny,

Because I say what I mean (and more in silence),

If there was wrong done,

And you received kindness,

You can take it to the bank.

There is no guessing with me,

And if you are unsure,

Consider that very dangerous,

Because those are the moment in which

I’m asking God for mercy.

If your life was saved as mine was,

Not just in Christ’s blood,

But in undue mercy near to death,

You surely must know your Master;

And he really doesn’t play favorites.

Now,

I may not say everything,

But if you look, there is no guessing,

You should not be afraid.

I will ask for calm for us both,

And you will know it in silence.

Would you listen

If I said it was the truth?

I ask because you don’t,

I reveal it constantly,

From smiling into tears,

Would you blink

If I stammered out reality,

As I have always?

I ask,

Because I don’t have to,

He asks better than me.

They are frightening, these silent answers,

It chills me to the bone.

Would you laugh if I said that there is no difference between you and any of the others?

Would you second guess me, because it’s true?

We all walk afraid.

Every, into work, out of work, as we go home,

Would you believe it if you saw it?

Because you will not if I say so,

I have.

An angel is a messenger,

The truth comes in faith,

That is how we see it.

The only remaining question is:

Will you be afraid?

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

