The Benefit of Writing exactly what you mean however you’d like to say it

12/16/2014

The Benefit of Writing exactly what you mean however you’d like to say it

  • You won’t always be able to say everything, so when you write, you can save it for when that happens. And if it never happens, who cares? And if it happens too late, at least it’s written down.
  • There will be less questions looking back, because you will know that when you wrote what you wrote, you really really meant it. That will give you unparalleled insight and visual stamina to see exactly what life was like (as best as your gonna get if you’re a words person) back when, and that will give you a lot of credibility when you relate to others that are experienced what you did, because you will know.
  • It is art.
  • No one can take your ideas from you. Even if you don’t have a pen and paper, they are with you always, but they will be more recent and vivid (with less bias of time and aging) if you write it right then. Trust me, I know.
  • You don’t have to prove anything, but if you forget, at least you have something to go back to.
  • It’s like a photo album of your life; your loved ones, your memories, your heart. If you lost all your family photos in a fire, would you be upset? It’s the same thing.
  • It costs almost nothing as long as you can steal pens left in plain sight and write on napkins. That may seem sad to some, but most things in life are going to cost buckets just to start, even if you suck. Golf. Baked Goods and Culinary Arts. Art, Dancing, Theater, Music, Sass, etc. it’s all expensive sometimes. Writing is so cheap you can do it on thrown out newspapers and with spray paint on walls for the spray joy of passion and color.
  • If you think that Shakespeare is any different than Lil Wayne, you have no idea what kind of a craftsman Lil Wayne is, his stuff is beautiful. It’s about a lot of things I don’t necessarily care to practice myself, but its art. And as long as you aren’t afraid Satan is going to sneak into your earballs if you watch a music video or two, I’d say it’s probably a good bet just to watch and understand what the truth is to his rhymes. He’s talking about reality. It may not be yours, but damn is it vivid. His swagger is something I aspire to, with a little less ego and a lot more faith in risk. Lil Wayne is one of my many heroes, and I don’t care what your denomination is, he’s a baller.
    • For that matter, if you want to know what most people are thinking, needing, or feel, look to pop culture. Duh. You don’t have to believe in it to appreciate it. Acceptance and grace in practice (not ego) is why early Christians were even tolerated, let alone gained enough strength and momentum (through love, not ignorance) to spread the Gospel. That is just how it is.
  • You don’t have to understand it yet, and if you do it right, you probably won’t. The journal entries I have in my possession from when I was a child mean something that I haven’t understood ever, and now that I’m done with this semester, I finally have the time to look. When I was in Chile, one of my friends heard me worried when I spoke about how I was afraid to look at the journals I had kept because it was such a dark place. She said that if Jesus was protecting me there, there was no reason he wouldn’t if I looked back. She was right, and she didn’t even know I was listening; I didn’t either. But that is how a life happens. We store memories for a reason. And moreover, if you really want to understand, that shit is gradual. And you have to dig.
  • On the flipside, if you are pursuing something that really isn’t you and isn’t who you are, that will not just make you sin, that will make you completely miserable perpetually. We have to suffer a little to get to where we need to be sometimes, and that is most definitely not fair. But it is natural, and it is normal, and it will happen.
  • (Lack of) Causation. If you are afraid of that happening, then you lose the entire point of all that is happening during it, and all that happened before it, and thus, the rippled significance of everything that will happen after it. All people of history are connected. All events are connected. All goodness is connected. We typically teach it to our children chronologically in history books, but could you dare to believe that a God that made time also could and maybe does operate outside of it whenever he pleases? That would make a lot more sense to me, given we are the ones that attach hierarchy to time in the context of events. The Time Traveller’s Wife is a beautiful book, but maybe it is just about the other-worldly crazy-defying potential of Love as a whole. And if it is enduring and romantic, that comes from God.
  • You will be able to see yourself make it up as you go, and you will look back and be able to feel all of it because you will remember the sacrifice and the celebration and the joy and the suffering. It will make you a better person to empathize with yourself in the past; you will know the present and if you are really looking for patterns, maybe even the future a little better. A self-fulfilling prophecy is an egotistical concept because it is without God who causes all things. And if he said the same thing to you in the past as he is now in regards to one specific situation or another, it is no accident. He will say the same thing to you in the future, if it is something he cares to say and have endured. And more often than not, those things have deep significance to your gifts and who he made you (which is perfectly you; not perfect). You have to be looking for them, but you can be looking back.
  • Don’t forget that the gist of this is goodness, and goodness is simple. Don’t overthink it. Write from your soul. And move forward.
Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

