Drive

I wrote this poem literally the Monday before my car accident. Lol. It’s still beautiful, and man does that feeling never leave. Also, if anyone read’s into this and insinuates that it was my fault, I will literally walk away.

11/29/2014

100% Here

100% There

Could this even be?

Some oil burned,

The price of gas,

It’s really almost free.

I run away out to the stars,

I drive myself back home.

I dance and sing and carry on,

And pray when I’m alone.

There is no yes or no here

Not when I’m behind the wheel,

Stick my hand or head out

Never forget to sit and feel.

There is so much goodness left here,

I fly when I am free,

Down the vacant streets

And hazy lights

That fill my passenger seats.

The road that my dog escaped past,

And three times risked his life,

I run down at 40 miles per hour (speed limit),

I forget to be polite.

I forget to be a child there

Tracing car lights through window shades,

For even though the asphalt does,

The memories never fade.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

