Bitter Rose

12/14/2014

(Reality sucks sometimes, but it is also vivid, by the grace of God)

How many pints per petal,

For you, my Bitter Rose?

The blood red flesh of sacrifice,

Across your garden grows.

The many thorns dark shadows,

The nightshade comes in red,

The blackened ache that broke the grave,

A thorny wreath upon his head.

It’s a Rose of Sharon Christmas,

Alas, where have you gone?

I could weep for his bitter absence,

But instead, I’ll write a new song,

Of broken promises came fulfilled,

The infant you crave to nurse,

What a blessing that this Christmas season,

Is the first I’ve known his worth.

God stopped Abraham from Isaac,

And offered up his only son,

Away in a manger near Bethlehem,

Thirty some years, but still, he’d come.

You cannot know unless you’re looking,

Time never meant a dime to me,

I could beat your stupid 7,

I could wait ‘til 33.

I can’t know how deep this is planted,

Now without looking me in the eyes,

You can’t save me from being wounded,

This one comes without disguise.

I wish you knew that you can’t shake me,

I wish you knew there was only me,

I wish you believed in the forgiveness,

That he gave fully free.

He died a broken pauper,

His clothing cast in lots,

His mother in the audience,

The goodness almost lost.

He rose in a white salvation,

He left his sheets undone,

He came back to see them folded,

He came back because he’d won,

I wish you would come back,

That regenerates; it doesn’t die,

It doesn’t wilt under harsh conditions,

It doesn’t wither in a sigh.

Healing was triggered August 25th,

It never was your choice.

Stop blaming me or you for love,

When we should just rejoice.

There’s a funny tinged I told you so,

I see it in your eyes,

You don’t believe in letters yet,

But silly, please don’t hide.

There are stories to be written,

There are stories to be sung,

Please believe that God is with you;

You were always the one.

I don’t have a lot of patience,

But I have a lot of time,

I’m waiting ‘til the day when love,

Contradicts verbal “Be mines”.

I don’t want stupid valentines,

Silly; I want you.

There was never any gift or fear,

That could make less of us two.

You don’t believe me, so I let you be,

I wish you even knew,

I can’t force you to recognize,

What was always sweetly true.

If you came I would say nothing,

I wouldn’t even cry,

You don’t have to ask this time,

You shouldn’t need to lie.

I don’t have many thing,

But what I have was always yours,

There was never right or wrong to this,

That’s why we have the Lord.

You can’t make it die;

Don’t you think I’ve already tried?

I would ask nothing else,

If you just stood by my side.

I can’t convince your family,

It’s a seeing kind of thing,

I know that they will love me,

Without a stupid ring.

I don’t believe in re-dos,

I believe in moving on,

I wish you would move with me,

And sing my silly song.

It’s a clam from broken tombstones,

It’s a clam from reborn graves,

It’s a calm from saying nothing,

It’s a calm like I was saved,

I have nothing else to offer,

Except who I am.

You wouldn’t be so scared silly,

If that wasn’t in the plan.

You never really listen,

I understand; it takes time,

At the end of the day though, seriously,

I just want you to be mine.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

