Nothing you can do (For my beloved Friends and family)

You can buy me flowers,

You can write me a song,

You can sit with me through the hours,

When just one hour is too long.

You can buy me froyo,

You can listen still,

You can remind me often,

Why there aren’t “forget” pills,

You can sing with me when I do,

You can just help me stall,

When I cry in silence,

We both know it’s nothing at all,

You can run away with me,

We can join a race,

You can dance and act and write,

At least then I have a place.

But you can’t do anything,

And neither can I;

You can’t protect me,

There’s no way to try,

You can’t forget this,

Not when I look this way,

So I do my best to listen,

“There is nothing left to say”,

Nothing to say about not-crying crying,

Nothing to say about sleep,

That comes and goes and ties little bows,

Fuck that; it’s a sonofabitch and I’m really tired.

You want honesty??

Ok, let’s go.

It’s not for the goddamn internet.

Please let me talk to you about this,

Because I am only talking to God,

And it’s nice to externally process sometimes.

Please let me not be alone on Friday nights,

Please help me run away,

Please let me forget and laugh,

When I have nothing to say,

Please dance with me in public,

Hell, maybe we’ll dance in the bars,

Still not gonna “get wasted”,

Still not gonna “go hard”,

You want an answer? Fine.

My answer is a motherfucking “no”.

I will leave and sleep and dance away,

The goddamn “I told you so’s”.

I will forget as soon as possible,

I’m going to take my sweet fucking time,

And then when it suits me,

I will not motherfucking rhyme.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

