I’m sorry I broke your class average

Dear teacher,

I’m sorry I broke your class average. I was too sick to teach myself like I normally do. Too sick to even get out of bed and read the internet, let alone fake my way into an A so you don’t feel bad. I wish you would’ve helped me like you said you would, or at least, told me I had options before I took the test that you asked me to take as soon as I was able. I was able. I took it. I broke your class average.

I know that you are evaluated on your performance, and I know that you may not teach again if I break your class average like I have. You can’t blame me for not trying like other students, we know each other as people. That time you asked me to help you learn what you were doing wrong in class? I came and told you, and I said it so you would be able to listen. You wrote me that reference letter, remember? The reason I asked you was because I helped you, and you never showed it to me before you sent it in. I didn’t move on in the $30,000 scholarship competition though, and I know that I want to be a Teacher now, so thank you.

Remember when I took those videos in class? And showed you them because you were mad and didn’t understand why I was showing you them? I do. Remember when I asked for help after I was too sick to be in class for 2 weeks? I do. Remember when I broke your class average? Well, I’m sorry. I wasn’t in class to do the practice. It wouldn’t have helped me anyways, I would have already done it on my own and shown up for the measly participation you don’t actually value. Anyways, I would have shown up because someone’s gotta help my classmates when you go to fast, don’t listen, and then insult us for not getting it. I have spoken clarifications of your teaching louder lately, and you don’t like that.

I’m still sorry I broke your class average. I care about you, and I like that you have a sense of humor. I know you just had surgery, and I’ve been praying for you this entire time. I think your husband is nice, he nicely waited to take you to lunch when I was asking your questions that went unanswered until I went home, like the research project your department wouldn’t consider. It’s okay, I found out otherwise. I’m still sorry. I’ll do my worst so that you can have your class average again. I hope that is enough.

20141114_113030PS: The smiley face was for you. šŸ™‚

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

