Mirror Mirror

I threw bones at my mirror,

And it didn’t break.

Even rocks didn’t scratch it,

The bricks only shake.

The arrows of his ego,

So deftly aimed, bounce;

The boulders of my pride,

One billionth, not an ounce.

A penny of the side,

Rolls faster away,

It’s almost as if,

There was nothing to say.

I chipped the ground under my mirror,

Or granted, I tried.

The ground was too hard,

A cornerstone inside.

Warm to the touch,

But sadly obeyed,

It was never my hurt,

That ever was saved.

I painted over my mirror,

Red for sacrifice.

But even red mirrors,

Look good without a price.

I sifted sand against my mirror,

Each little grain piled,

I looked back into my mirror,

And frick; I smiled.

I see myself in my mirror,

Blemished, but bare.

I see him right beside me,

Strong silence, dark hair.

I look beyond my mirror,

And the sight doesn’t leave,

I walk around with my mirror,

Who said it was free?

I play games with my mirror,

My Shadow inside.

He smile right back at me,

In the mirror, he doesn’t lie.

I am a child,

A fool,

A sinner,

A theif,

I am a naïve little know it all,

At least that’s what he thinks.

I will stand with my mirror,

And the Shadow inside,

I will laugh at the Coward,

Who asks me to cry.

I will dance and be grateful,

That Shadow’s don’t lie,

Because the Man in the Mirror,

Will not come outside.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

