All my love love

(Love, love)

(Love, love)

Take a look at my heart, and

No, I don’t mean the romantic kind.

Come now, look past Hallmark; I’ll guide you,

See? The one inside my chest.

A series of tunnels and chambers,

A castle of life;

From each artery, a ventricle,

Past atriums and veins,

Cross my heart (don’t let me die),

That is, left to right.

Clockwise it is, a match between my lungs

And the love love of my pump.

Sit still and listen

Find your pulse.

Listen for the love love;

See? I told you so.

One for him and one for me,

Regardless of whether he loves me not, he loves me;

After all, I can breathe, can’t I?

Whether frozen or aflame,

The gift hardly matters.

Love, love; I love you,

It’s enough.

It may sing soft, at the brink of peace;

Or even bulge out of my chest like some restless drunk.

I fight or flight with the best of ‘em,

Yet my love love lets me walk through the dark.

It’s kind and friendly;

I need not a ring, a to-do list, or a carpool to hear my love love,

He’s stalls me between jumping from bad intentions to bad decisions,

He asks me to stop and listen.

For before it was mine, it had to be stolen,

Well, not exactly;

It had to be sacrificed.

Red, white, and blue never bloodied an altar,

At least, not one of our own.

But in the land of the free, the home of the price tag,

Sex, money, and fame never came so cheap.

Yet we call them Barbarians!

Why would you sell your children for anything less than your desires?

At least our God indulged our bloodlust,

Lucky, if you think about it.

Lucky that he doesn’t see it like that;

I don’t know how he can,

But after a life of broken promises and magnificent failures,

I hardly care.

In a way, it’s nice to know he’s on my side;

Even though I won’t ever get the point.

I’m sure he’ll let me know at least the basics when I get to heaven,

But I could die before I ever cared again.

SO many children died yesterday, today;

Their love love was repossessed.

I don’t know why,

But even when I’ve asked,

The only answer is my love love.

My heart may be broken, but it beats;

And after forgetting the sound of love love,

Too frozen to still hear,

The pump unthawed before it stopped,

A miracle without words;

Certainly without me.

When you can’t hear it,

You have to trust that it’s still there,

My vision may be 20/20 in hindsight,

But it’s still blurred before me.

May the shatter-sound of my Fear,

Be eclipsed by the love love;

Larger than life;

Greater than death.

A pane of solid ice,

And without so much as a gasp of air,

My love love is proof.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

