A few words on luck

Everyone who knows me knows that I am a lucky lady. I don’t know when or how it began, but I look for four leaf clovers fairly consistently and thus find them casually with frequency. I wrote these words last year, as part of a gift to some dear friends who were about to start a new cycle in their lives (and survived). While many aspects of my words have changed in a years time, my love has not. If you are reading this, I challenge you to search for the luck in every corner of your life, wherever it might be hiding. Who knows? You may find it. If you think that this is just about clovers, feel free to go ahead and stop reading here. 

A few words on luck…(orginally written 5/7/2013)

After searching for 4 leaf clovers for much of my life, there are a few things that I have found to be simple life truths. I am not an expert nor do I pretend to be, but as you are about to start this new stage of life, I hope you consider some simple facts about luck, 4 leaf clovers, and life.

  1. Luck comes when you least expect it. You can search all year, month, or day for a 4-leafer and it won’t come until it is ready
  2. Luck can come all at once. Because of plant genetics, you will often find 4-leafers in a cluster, if at all. Embrace it.
  3. You have to look. You won’t find luck if you aren’t looking for it and the wonderful, beautiful things of this world will only be known to you if you pay attention.
  4. Luck must be shared, or imparted, or passed on. Share your knowledge and insight with those around you. Share your love. It will come back to you.
  5. Failure is inevitable, but it is also a mindset. You will fail so many times before you find a 4-leafer, or any other beautiful thing. Accept it as a sign of progress.

I know you will find luck. I am thankful for the conversations that we’ve had, and consider myself lucky to be your friend.

As always,

Location: LakeLocation: Between Strong and Bailey HallLocation: Between Strong and Bailey Hall 2Location: My neighborhoodLocation: ? KU

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

