Personal Rules for Learning, Blog creation

I write. I write often. And although I have grown past the need to fail justifying my thoughts, my dear friends and family can no longer keep up with the volume of thoughts I share, whether through text, email, Facebook, letter, Snapchat, etc. ( and thus, my point). I need a better solution, so that the dreams that come and become fossils can be examined before the next layer of thought dust settles and becomes silt, then sediment. 

The beauty in words is their ability to share a moment, a lifetime, an experience, or a feeling that is still vague and in need of polishing. There are no right answers here. There is the truth, but answers imply that the truth is fixed. I believe that the truth of God never changes, never fails, never stops being available to those who seek it. I also know that humans, at least every human that I have ever met, can stumble and struggle and exalt as their vision continues to change over time, despite what the prescription may have been two days, years, or minutes prior. We fail. 

If learning is meant to inspire boldness and motivate past old fears, than let this silly collection of e-scribbles point to the truth, and the love from which that truth came. The following is a list of carefully considered and hastily penned rules for the classes and any other extracurricular pursuit of the truth this semester (thus, this blog). Some of them will be more applicable than others.

My Personal Rules for Learning (as written before class today at 2:30pm)

-It all goes in the same notebook. This is a journey, not an end product, and my thoughts are a process.I will define my notebooks by date ranges vs. “subject” (hah)

– My phone will not be a distraction during class

– I will not use my voice as a distraction during class

– I will not disconnect. I will engage silently, if appropriate

– I will be bold. If something needs to be questioned, mentioned, or reserved for later, I will follow the love

– Fear is not the enemy. Apathy is. Big risks mean big learning, and risk means the possibility of success and accepting failure so that all might succeed

– I am aware and young, thus, I am lucky. I must be a good steward of my gifts, otherwise I destroy vs. edify

– God comes first, last, in-between, and consistently throughout all of it. Nothing matters unless I am firm in him, nothing can replace him, and nothing can be done without his will

– Love > Creation > Others > Myself + Jesus > Death > Myself. Don’t be an idiot and forget (as little as you can-you have power over this through him)

Let this blog be a bold chance to explore dreams, learn about God, and dive into the waves before they smash into me. Amen.

Published by

haleylol

I am a teacher-to-be who loves people. I am not afraid of many things. I like to explain my thoughts logically on a very birds-eye view level--I was born thinking that way. I follow Jesus Christ, and I accept only that label to describe my identity--that I am a child of God, as are infinite others, regardless of their other identities. Christ is my one thing.

Leave a Reply

